NOTE: I don't post to this blog super-duper often anymore, because I'm busy writing, well, books. (Read more about that here.) For more up-to-date, day-to-day ramblings, visit my Facebook page.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Countdown to Pub Day Party Giveaway #4!

Blogfrogs, I can hardly believe that 4 weeks from today--*cough*gasp*choke*--I'll be celebrating my very own Pub Day. But until that time, I've got one last giveaway before our final wowza palooza party day. It is my distinct honor to offer you ...

(trumpet fanfare & drumroll)

The Cavendish Home for Boys & Girls
by Claire Legrand




Goodreads has this to say:

At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.
This book has a timeless, Roald Dahlesque quality--i.e., fantastic writing--and is seriously creepy. Kirkus Reviews called it “a heartwarming friendship tale . . . A thoroughgoing ickfest, elevated by vulnerable but resilient young characters and capped by a righteously ominous closing twist.” This is a book with a great friendship at its heart as well as more than a few chills and scares.

So I'm thrilled to be giving away a hardcover copy of this novel along with three of my fab The Key & the Flame bookmarks! This is a short giveaway, frogs--just one week. So the tension won't last forever. By the way, hearty congrats & confetti to Mike C. of Illinois, who won last month's giveaway and is now enjoying his very own copy of The Spindlers by Lauren Oliver.

But that's over and done. This giveaway's happening right now. So go ahead. Get in on it!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

10 comments:

  1. Congratulations on this fantastic achievement, Claire! I'm anxious to read it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Sonja! Finally it's getting close now.

      Delete
  2. I am looking forward to getting my hands on YOUR book. I love middle grade readers, and my students are always keen to read a new fantasy :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Wow!Can't wait to read your debut!Thanks for the giveaway and good luck! :)

    Nobonita@Daydreaming Bookworm

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love how the cover for Claire's book and your book make you wonder what's inside. My son's interest was piqued as he passed by. "What are those kids doing?" Congrats!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Laurie! I think they're both pretty cool covers. :)

      Delete
  5. Brilliant giveaway! I've been wanting to own CAVENDISH for some time now, so I was very excited to see the giveaway in my Twitter feed. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete